By Monica Boyer, College of St. Scholastica, Class of ’18

What makes a perfect adventure? I would say getting outdoors and trying something new. Last weekend, I had my own little adventure. My family and I traveled to Duluth, MN and the surrounding area for some outdoor fun. Our first stop was Gooseberry Falls to do some hiking. When I go hiking, I like to do a few different things. I always wear my favorite hat (of course it is a TOC hat), a sturdy pair of shoes and I bring a water bottle. I make sure that I have sunscreen and bug spray on; getting burnt or getting bit can ruin the adventure.

IMG_3392
The view from one of the bridges.

 

My family and I hiked around Gooseberry and were able to see the upper, middle and lower falls. It was the perfect day to be outside! It was sunny but not terribly hot. We weren’t the only ones taking advantage of the great weather. Along our hike, we meet many other families and groups. Some of the families were from that area and others were from different countries. It was great to see so many people outside and enjoying nature.

IMG_8135
Me and my favorite hiking buddy (my sister)

 

IMG_2196
Taking in the view from the top of some rocks

 

My family and I had a great time seeing the waterfalls and spotting different types of birds and trees! It was a great outdoor adventure! After or hike, we were pretty hungry so we stopped for pie. My piece of pie had blueberries, rhubarb, strawberries and raspberries in it. It was an amazing piece of pie! I probably could have eaten six more pieces. Overall, it was a fun weekend adventure. I would encourage everyone to get outside and try something new outdoors this summer!

If you love the outdoors and want to share your passion with others, become a volunteer! Our volunteers assist with classes, care for our animals and welcome in visitors at our front desk. The application process starts at age 12. To apply to be a volunteer, visit our website  and click then click the “Apply Now!” link. If you have any questions about volunteering or just want to learn more, email me at monica.boyer@state.sd.us

Monica is the volunteer coordinator intern for The Outdoor Campus.

Leave a Reply

