On the Road to Adventure

The Outdoor Campus CodyBy Cody Green

For the past two summers I have been an intern here at The Outdoor Campus in Sioux Falls. While I have been here, I have also been an Outdoor Education major at Black Hill State University.

Going to school at Black Hill State has prepared me perfectly for this internship. A majority of the classes I have taken in school are nature based or go into some of the skills that we teach here such as paddling, archery, orienteering and camping.

As wonderful as that is, I am now looking to explore more on the adventure education side of it all: more intense activities like backpacking, whitewater trips, downhill skiing and rock climbing. These are some of the things I am looking to do with my life in the next few years.The Outdoor Campus Outdoor University 2013 Rock Climbing

Rock climbing has been a big part of my life for the past couple years, and this year I am working on becoming a certified guide for rock climbing. This coming summer I will apply to become a guide for a rock climbing company out in the Black Hills. I have worked with this company before and a lot of the teaching they do is with families, so I can take the skills that I have learned here at The Outdoor Campus, teaching a wide range of ages, and translate them into working with a wide range of ages in a more adventurous setting.

Another sport that has been a big part of my life is skiing. I will do any skiing I can get my hands on, whether it’s cross country, downhill or touring (where you ski up the hill and then ski back down). I love to do it. So one thing that I am really interested in is to work on a ski mountain. The two main areas I would love to work is either giving ski lessons or working ski patrol.

The Outdoor Campus, Cody Slack line Balance
Cody slacklining

Once again, working here has helped me develop ways to communicate with a wide range of ages, so working with young students on ski lessons would be great. I have worked with some instructors before and it is a great experience to teach someone a new sport or hobby, just like we do every day at The Outdoor Campus.

Over the past year I have taken some of the courses I need to become a certified ski patrol member. I think that this would be the sort of job that I would have the most fun working. As ski patrol, your job is to make sure that everyone is safe and, if they are injured, you get to help them, which seems like one of the best jobs you can have.

The Outdoor Campus Cody Orienteering

Leave a Reply

